Australasian Oaks Betting

At 2000 metres around the South Australian Jockey Club’s Morphettville Racecourse, the Australasian Oaks is the shortest Oaks race on the Australian racing calendar for three-year-old fillies at set weights.

The uniquely “Australasian” titled race pays $320,000 to the winner, while the runner up spot is worth $85,000 and third place receives $40,000. Total prize money up for grabs is $500,000 and pays out down to tenth (10th) place.

The Auraria Stakes in Adelaide is the main lead up to the Oaks but many have come from obscure avenues to capture it.

In recent times, Zarita (2008) and Gallica (2009) won the Kewney Stakes over a mile at Flemington before winning the Oaks.

While, champion Australian three-year-old Delicacy (2015) won the WATC Derby at Ascot before landing her maiden Group One.

And more ambiguously, Abbey Marie (2016) won a rank and file three-year-old fillies benchmark 70 over 1440 metres before taking out the aforementioned feature at just start three.

From this, fillies often go on to race in the SA Fillies Classic, SA Derby and even the Queensland Oaks and Derby.

Traditionally held on the first day of the Adelaide Autumn Carnival, the same day as the Group One Robert Sangster Stakes for fillies and mares, the day is marketed as “Oaks and Ladies Day”.

Since 2002, hoops Damien Oliver, Greg Childs and Luke Nolen have won the race twice. Since 2006, trainers Phillip Stokes and Darren Weir have two each also.

Key Australasian Oaks Race Information


May 4, 2019


Morphettville Racecourse


Adelaide Autumn Racing Carnival




3YO – Set Weights


Group 1

2019 WINNER:

Princess Jenni


Total stakes: $500,000 (AUD)

How to live stream/Watch the 2019 Australasian Oaks

Have you backed the favourite in the 2019 Australasian Oaks and want to know how you can watch the big race?
The 2019 Australasian Oaks is scheduled to be run on 4th of May at 3:26pm so sign up to any of the compatible online bookmakers below and stream the race for free!

Bookmaker NSW VIC SA QLD WA TAS NT Sign Up

2019 Australasian Oaks Result & Race Replay


Past Australasian Oaks Results

Year Winner Jockey Weight (kg) Trainer Price
2019 Princess Jenni D Oliver 56 D Brideoake $3.30
2018 Sopressa H Coffey 56 D Weir $6.50
2017 Egg Tart K McEvoy 56 C Waller $3.00
2016 Abbey Marie L Nolen 56 M Kent $7.00
2015 Delicacy P Hall 56 G Williams $7.00
2014 May'S Dream B Rawiller 56 D Weir $3.20
2013 Maybe Discreet D Tourneur 56 P Stokes $6.50
2012 Invest P Mertens 56 C Conners $8.00
2011 Lights Of Heaven L Nolen 56 P Moody $2.50
2010 Small Minds D Holland 56 J Thompson $26.00
2009 Gallica C Newitt 56 M Price $2.00
2008 Zarita G Childs 56 J Hyland -
2007 Anamato M Rodd 56 D Hayes -
2006 Marju Snip S Arnold 55 P Stokes -
2005 Irish Darling P Harvey 55 L Cooper -
2004 Rinky Dink G Childs 55 R Hore-Lacy -
2003 Sound Action W Hokai 55 R Maguire -
2002 Tully Thunder D Oliver 55 R McDonald -
2001 Tempest Morn J Cassidy 55 G Waterhouse -
2000 Grand Echezeaux C Williams 55 D Freedman -
1999 Episode D Oliver 55 D Hall -
1998 La Volta D Brereton 55 C Alderson -
1997 Minegold A Matthews 55 L Macdonald -
1996 Leica Smile D Brereton 55 P Hayes -
1995 Yelgun Dawn M Clarke 55 P Tennent -
1994 Tristalove S Marshall 55 D Hayes -
1993 Our Tristalight S King 55 B Cummings -
1992 Gatherneaux D Nikolic 55 D Freedman -
1991 Mannerism D Oliver 55 D Freedman -
1990 Belle Chanson A Clarke 55 D Hayes -
1989 Stapleton Lass L Maund 56 B Cummings -
1988 Imposera G Hall 55 R Mcdonald -
1987 Send Me An Angel J Courtney 55 C Hayes -
1986 Miss Clipper J Letts 55 D Freedman -
1985 Centaurea L Piggott 55 R Mcdonald -
1984 Use The Space R Heffernan 55 G Hanlon -
1983 Royal Regatta J Letts 55 B Cummings -

Frequently Asked Questions about the Australasian Oaks

When is the 2019 Australasian Oaks? May 4 is the day that the Australasian Oaks will be run. It is usually held on the same day as the Robert Sangster Stakes.

How long is the Australasian Oaks? At 2000 metres, it is the shortest of all Oaks races in Australia.

Where is the 2019 Australasian Oaks? Morphettville Racecourse is the stage for the Australasian Oaks and has traditionally always been the home of the race.

Who won the 2018 Australasian Oaks? The Darren Weir-trained Sopressa won the Oaks in 2018 to gift Harry Coffey his maiden Group One success as a jockey.

Who won the 2017 Australasian Oaks? Egg Tart won Australasian Oaks in 2017 before going on to win the Queensland Oaks under Kerrin McEvoy for master trainer Chris Waller.

What is the prize money for the Australasian Oaks? $500,000 is available for connections who participate in the Australasian Oaks. The victress claims $320,000 for her connections.


Almost there!

We are loading your bets, and they will be here in a second.