Australian Oaks Betting

The Australian Oaks is a three-year-old fillies classic and is run annually at Royal Randwick by the Australian Turf Club under set weights conditions.

The initial running of the then AJC (Australian Jockey Club) Oaks over 12 furlongs in 1885 was won by Uralla. The now ATC Oaks has undergone a series of name and distance changes since its inaugural running but has been run over 12 furlongs or its metric thereabouts of 2400 metres since 1956.

In 2014, total prizemoney for the Australian Oaks was nearly doubled from $550,000 to $1,000,000 and has remained at that seven-figure quote since. Connections down to tenth (10th) place are rewarded with a cheque but the winners take home $580,000 while runners up and third placegetters earn $190,000 and $98,000 respectively.

The grand final staying race is run on day two of The Championships during Sydney’s autumn carnival with the key lead-ups including the Adrian Knox Stakes and the Storm Queen Stakes.

A string of outstanding three-year-old females have won the Principal classic including the Bart Cummings-trained subsequent Melbourne Cup winner Light Fingers in 1965, eventual Caulfield Cup winner Leilani in 1974 and the only filly to win a Cox Plate, Surround, went on the Oaks in 1977. Flight, Research and Triscay are also notable winners of the race.

In more recent times, jockeys Hugh Bowman and Mick Dittman have dominated with four Australian Oaks victories while trainers Gai Waterhouse and the late Guy Walter each have three.

Key Australian Oaks Race Information


April 11, 2020


Royal Randwick Racecourse


Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival/The Championships Day 2




3YO Fillies – Set Weights


Group 1

2019 WINNER:

Verry Elleegant


Total stakes: $1,000,000 (AUD)

How to live stream/Watch the 2019 Australian Oaks

Have you backed the favourite in the 2019 Australian Oaks and want to know how you can watch the big race?
The 2019 Australian Oaks is scheduled to be run on 13th of April at 2:25pm (AEST) so sign up to any of the compatible online bookmakers below and stream the race for free!

Bookmaker NSW VIC SA QLD WA TAS NT Sign Up

2019 Australian Oaks Result & Race Replay

Australian Oaks Results

Year Winner Jockey Weight (kg) Trainer Price
2019 Verry Elleegant J McDonald 56 C Waller $2.00
2018 Unforgotten H Bowman 56 C Waller $4.00
2017 Bonneval H Bowman 56 M Baker & A Forsman $4.30
2016 Sofia Rosa H Bowman 56 S Marsh $4.80
2015 Gust Of Wind T Angland 56 J Sargent $17.00
2014 Rising Romance J McDonald 56 D Logan $6.00
2013 Royal Descent N Rawiller 56 C Waller $4.50
2012 Streama H Bowman 56 G H Walter $1.40
2011 Absolutely B Rawiller 56 M Kent $31.00
2010 Once Were Wild N Rawiller 56 G Waterhouse $9.00
2009 Daffodil H Bowman 56 K Gray $13.00
2008 Heavenly Glow R Thompson 56 A Denham -
2007 Rena'S Lady M Rodd 56 G Portelli -
2006 Serenade Rose G Boss 55.5 D Freedman -
2005 Dizelle C Brown 55.5 J Hawkes -
2004 Wild Iris L Cassidy 55.5 G Walter -
2003 Sunday Joy L Beasley 55.5 G Waterhouse -
2002 Republic Lass G Boss 55 G Walter -
2001 Rose Archway B York 54 C Conners -
2000 Coco Cobanna S Dye 54 G Waterhouse -
1999 Grand Archway S Dye 54 G Rogerson -
1998 On Air J Marshall 54 A Cummings -
1997 Danendri G Boss 54 B Cummings -
1996 Kenbelle J Sheehan 54 K Robinson -
1995 Circles Of Gold G Eades 54 B Smith -
1994 Alcove P Payne 54 TJ Hughes Jnr -
1993 Mahaya M Dittman 54 G Begg -
1992 My Brilliant Star P Hutchinson 54 R Cleland -
1991 Triscay M Dittman 54 J Denham -
1990 Domino B Hibberd 54 J Campin -
1989 Research M Dittman 54 C Conners -
1988 Savana City P Cook 54 R Johnson -
1987 Bounding Away M Dittman 54 TJ Smith -
1986 Just Now D Gauci 54 JJ Atkins -
1985 Our Sophia P Cook 54 G M Hanlon -
1984 La Souvronne L O'sullivan 54 D O'Sullivan -
1983 Starzaan G Willetts 54 T Green -

Frequently Asked Questions about the Australian Oaks

When is the 2019 Australian Oaks? The 2019 ATC Australian Oaks will be held on day two of The Championships during the Sydney Autumn Carnival, April 13.

How long is the Australian Oaks? The Australian Oaks is run over the traditional Oaks journey of 2400m.

Where is the 2019 Australian Oaks? The Oaks has customarily always been run at Royal Randwick and will again in 2019.

Who won the 2018 Australian Oaks? Genius trainer Chris Waller and international star jockey Hugh Bowman combined with Fastnet Rock mare Unforgotten to win the 2018 edition of the Oaks.

Who won the 2017 Australian Oaks? Hugh Bowman also won the 2017 Oaks with Bonneval. Trained by Murray Baker and Andrew Forsman, the daughter of Makfi made it an Oaks double on the back of New Zealand Oaks success.

What is the prize money for the Australian Oaks? Prize money of $1,000,000 is on the line with the winner gaining riches of $580,000.