Doomben Cup Betting

The Doomben Cup is run by the Brisbane Turf Club and holds Group One status. Distances for the Doomben Cup have varied over the years but since 2012 it has been held over 2000 metres and is open to three-year-olds and up under weight-for-age conditions.

With a total prize pool of $700,000, money is paid all the way from first through to tenth (10th) place. Prizemoney of $420,000 to the winner while second will receive $126,000 and third will get $63,000.

The Doomben Cup is one of the ‘majors’ of the Brisbane Winter Carnival alongside the Doomben 10,000, Stradbroke Handicap and Kingsford-Smith Cup.

Some high profile winners have won the feature over the years none more so than Rough Habit which captured the Doomben Cup on three consecutive occasions from 1991 through to 1993. More recent winners include Might And Power, Defier, Scenic Shot, Our Ivanhowe and Comin’ Through. Dandy Any won the 1987 edition before going on to cause arguably the upset of the century in the 1988 Australian Cup, beating Vo Rogue and Bonecrusher.

Jim Cassidy holds the record for most wins by a jockey with three victories (all on Rough Habit) while John Wheeler combined with Cassidy to win three as a trainer. Only the legendary Tommy ‘T.J’ Smith matched Wheeler’s feat as a trainer with three wins (Lord Nelson, Cheyne Walk, Marceau).

Key Doomben Cup Race Information


May 16, 2020


Doomben Racecourse


Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival




3YO & Upwards – Weight-for-age


Group 1

2018 WINNER:



Total stakes: $700,000 (AUD)

How to live stream/Watch the 2019 Doomben Cup

Have you backed the favourite in the 2019 Doomben Cup and want to know how you can watch the big race?
The 2019 Doomben Cup is scheduled to be run on 18th of May at TBC so sign up to any of the compatible online bookmakers below and stream the race for free!

Live Vision
NSW Racing
VIC Racing
QLD Racing
SA Racing
WA Racing
TAS Racing
NT Racing
Sign Up

2018 Doomben Cup Result & Race Replay

Doomben Cup Results

Year Winner Jockey Weight (kg) Trainer Price
2019 Kenedna John Allen 52 C Maher & D Eustace $10.00
2018 Comin' Through M Walker 59 C Waller $9.00
2017 Sense Of Occasion C Brown 59 K Lees $9.00
2016 Our Ivanhowe K McEvoy 59 L & A Freedman $16.00
2015 Pornichet B Shinn 59 G Waterhouse $3.50
2014 Streama B Shinn 57 G Walter $4.30
2013 Beaten Up L Innes 59 C Waller $9.00
2012 Mawingo N Rawiller 59 A Freedman $8.00
2011 Scenic Shot S Scriven 59 D Morton $6.50
2010 Metal Bender K McEvoy 59 C Waller $3.30
2009 Scenic Shot S Scriven 59 D Morton $12.00
2008 Sarrera D Oliver 59 M Moroney -
2007 Cinque Cento S Arnold 56.5 P Moody -
2006 Above Deck M Zahra 58 R Douglas -
2005 Perlin D Nikolic 58 G Rogerson -
2004 Defier J Bowman 58 G Walter -
2003 Bush Padre M Rodd 58 D Freedman -
2002 Mr. Bureaucrat A Robinson 58 W Hailes -
2001 King Keitel B York 58 P Jenkins -
2000 Akhenaton G Boss 54.5 F Mitchell -
1999 Intergaze C Carmody 58 R Craig -
1998 Might And Power B York 57 J Denham -
1997 Sapio D Bradley 57.5 S Kay -
1996 Juggler D Beadman 57 G Waterhouse -
1995 Danewin R Dye 53.5 R Thomsen -
1994 Durbridge S Marshall 57.5 D Freedman -
1993 Rough Habit J Cassidy 57.5 J Wheeler -
1992 Rough Habit J Cassidy 57.5 J Wheeler -
1991 Rough Habit J Cassidy 57 J Wheeler -
1990 Eye Of The Sky G Duffy 57.5 G Begg -
1989 Abstraction D Gauci 50 L Felton -
1988 Lord Hybrow K Moses 51.5 N Mcburney -
1987 Dandy Andy H White 52 C Cerchi -
1986 Les' Choice C SYMONS 49 K Young -
1985 Mr. Trick M Lyndon 52.5 J Size -
1984 Hussar'S Command W Harris 52.5 B Murray -

Frequently Asked Questions about the Doomben Cup

When is the Doomben Cup? The 2019 running of the Doomben Cup will be held on May 18 and is run a week after the Doomben 10,000.

What time is the Doomben?
The 2019 Doomben Cup is set to run at 3:40 pm.

How long is the Doomben Cup? The 2019 Doomben Cup will be conducted over 2000 metres and has been run at that distance since 2012. Prior to that, the Doomben Cup had been held over various distances ranging from 2000 metres up to 2200 metres.

Where is the 2019 Doomben Cup? This year’s Doomben Cup will be held at Doomben Racecourse with the meeting being run by the Brisbane Turf Club.

Who won 2018 Doomben Cup? Chris Waller captured the 2018 Doomben Cup thanks to consistent stable performer Comin’ Through. Michael Walker was the winning jockey with stablemate Egg Tart finishing second and Ambitious rounding out the trifecta.

Who won 2017 Doomben Cup? Kris Lees’ Sense of Occasion was the 2017 winner of the Doomben Cup.

What is the prize money for the 2019 Doomben Cup? Prizemoney has reached a record $700,000 in total for the 2019 Doomben Cup with $420,000 of that going to the winner.


Almost there!

We are loading your bets, and they will be here in a second.