JJ Atkins Betting

One of only five coveted Group One races for two-year-olds on the Australian racing calendar is the JJ Atkins Stakes. The 1600 metre set weights race has had a number of name changes throughout its history, dating all the way back to 1893.

With a total of $600,000 in prize money available, first prize is worth $360,000, second prize is worth $108,000 and $54,000 for third. Prizemoney down to tenth (10th) is paid.

Being one of the eight Group Ones currently registered in Queensland, the Atkins is usually scheduled alongside the Queensland Derby and Stradbroke Handicap on the feature day of Brisbane’s Winter Carnival.

Great winners of the race include, but are not limited to, Dalrello (1973), Flotilla (1987), Zeditave (1988), Mahogany (1993), Darci Brahma (2005) and recent superstar The Autumn Sun (2018).

Kerrin McEvoy is the most winning rider of the JJ Atkins having won the race three times with Juanmo (2001), Benfica (2011) and The Autumn Sun (2018).

In modern times, Chris Waller has won three JJ Atkins’ with Pressday (2010), Press Statement (2015) and The Autumn Sun (2018).

Legendary trainers Gai Waterhouse, John Hawkes and Bob Thomsen have all won the Atkins twice.

Key JJ Atkins Race Information


June 8, 2019


Eagle Farm Racecourse


Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival




2YO – Set Weights


Group 1

2018 WINNER:

The Autumn Sun


Total stakes: $600,000 (AUD)

How to live stream/Watch the 2019 J J Atkins

Have you backed the favourite in the 2019 J J Atkins and want to know how you can watch the big race?
The 2019 J J Atkins is scheduled to be run on 8th of June at Eagle Farm so sign up to any of the compatible online bookmakers below and stream the race for free!

Past JJ Atkins Results

Year Winner Jockey Weight (kg) Trainer Price
2018 The Autumn Sun K McEvoy 56.5 C Waller $4.00
2017 Capital Gain J Byrne 56.5 P Butterworth $21.00
2016 Sacred Elixir Z Purton 56.5 T Pike $5.00
2015 Press Statement T Angland 56.5 C Waller $6.50
2014 Friends Of Ka Ying T Berry 56.5 G Waterhouse $4.80
2013 Romantic Touch N Rawiller 56.5 G Waterhouse $2.40
2012 Sizzling C Munce 56.5 K Wood $1.60
2011 Benfica K McEvoy 55.5 P Snowden $4.50
2010 Pressday N Rawiller 55.5 C Waller $3.30
2009 Linky Dink P Robl 55.5 J Coyle $26.00

Frequently Asked Questions about the JJ Atkins

When is the 2019 JJ Atkins Stakes? June 8 and is run on the same day as the Queensland Derby and the Stradbroke Handicap.

How long is the JJ Atkins Stakes? 1600 metres is the journey for the juveniles.

Where is the 2019 JJ Atkins Stakes? The home of the JJ Atkins is Eagle Farm but from 2015-2017, the race was held at Doomben.

Who won 2018 JJ Atkins Stakes? The 2018 JJ Atkins Stakes was crack colt The Autumn Sun’s first Group One win before going on to win multiple other Group Ones.

Who won 2017 JJ Atkins Stakes? Capital Gain caused an upset in 2017 by taking out the two-year-old feature for trainer Paul Butterworth and jockey Jim Byrne.

What is the prize money for the JJ Atkins Stakes? $600,000 with $360,000 of it going the way of winning connections.


Almost there!

We are loading your bets, and they will be here in a second.