South Australian Derby Betting

Run by the South Australian Jockey Club, the South Australian Derby is a Group One classic race for three-year-olds which is run at set weights conditions over 2500 metres at Morphettville. Since being run for the first time in 1860, the race distance has varied between 2500 and 2400 metres with the 1980 edition being run over 2600 metres.

$500,000 is the total purse for the SA Derby. Prize money pays down to tenth (10th) but first claims the majority with $320,000, second takes $85,000 and third receives $40,000.

The SA Derby is one of four Group Ones on the South Australian racing calendar and, in recent years, has been held on the middle week of the Adelaide Autumn Carnival between SA Oaks/Robert Sangster Stakes Day (or Ladies Day) and Goodwood Day.

Throughout history, only few carry the honour winning the SA Derby as well as the Melbourne Cup including The Assyrian which won the Derby in 1880, Gatum Gatum (1961) and Subzero (1992).

Modestly named F.J.A. (1903), Dayana (1972), Rebel Raider (2009) and Delicacy (2015) are a few multiple Derby winners who have captured the South Australian version.

In recent times, Mummify (2003) is arguably the best winner of the race. Delicacy added the race to go with her WA Oaks, Australasian Oaks and WATC Derby before being crowned Australian Champion Three-Year-Old Filly in the same season Winx was three.

Since the early 90s, trainers Lee Freedman, Cliff Brown and Darren Weir have all won the race three times.

Key South Australian Derby Race Information


May 11, 2019


Morphettville Racecourse




3YO – Set Weights


Group 1

2018 WINNER:



Total stakes: $600,000 (AUD)

How to live stream/Watch the 2019 South Australian Derby

Have you backed the favourite in the 2019 South Australian Derby and want to know how you can watch the big race?

The 2019 South Australian Derby is scheduled to be run on 11th of May at TBC so sign up to any of the compatible online bookmakers below and stream the race for free!

Bookmaker NSW VIC SA QLD WA TAS NT Sign Up

2018 South Australian Derby Race Replay

Past South Australian Derby Results

Year Winner Jockey Weight (kg) Trainer Price
2018 Helene Leadingstar D Lane 56.5 D Weir $4.00
2017 Volatile Mix J Allen 56.5 D Weir $16.00
2016 Howard Be Thy Name J Allen 56.5 D Weir $5.00
2015 Delicacy P Hall 54.5 G Williams $1.90
2014 Kushadasi S Arnold 56.5 R Jolly $4.50
2013 Escado B Melham 56.5 M Laurie $13.00
2012 Zabeelionaire D Oliver 56.5 L Corstens $4.00
2011 Shadows In The Sun B Melham 56.5 A Cummings $21.00
2010 Kidnapped K McEvoy 56.5 P Snowden $4.50
2009 Rebel Raider C Lindop 56.5 L Macdonald $2.60
2008 Zarita G Childs 54 P Hyland -
2007 Lazer Sharp B Rawiller 56.5 B Rawiller -
2006 Testafiable G Childs 55.5 P Moody -
2005 Tails Of Triomphe P Gatt 55.5 T & K O'Sullivan -
2004 Hard To Get J Bowditch 55.5 M Kavanagh -
2003 Mummify D Nikolic 55.5 D Freedman -
2002 Pantani D Nikolic 55.5 R Laing -
2001 Big Pat P Mertens 55.5 C Murray -
2000 Blue Murder M Gatt 55.5 C Brown -
1999 Showella E Wilkinson 53 F Ritchie -
1998 Bulta N Rawiller 55.5 T White -
1997 Markham J Holder 55.5 C Brown -
1996 Cheviot D Browne 55.5 C Brown -
1995 Count Chivas N Harris 55.5 S Morrish -
1994 Bullwinkle P Payne 55.5 E Musgrove -
1993 Our Pompeii T Jackman 55.5 G Hanlon -
1992 Subzero G Hall 55.5 D Freedman -
1991 Shiva'S Revenge S Marshall 55.5 B Cummings -
1990 Diego L O'sullivan 55.5 B Mclachlan -
1989 Sea Brigand A Clarke 55.5 P Conroy -
1988 Celtic Spirit N Barrett 55.5 A Elkington -
1987 Shark'S Fin D Gauci 55.5 B Cummings -
1986 French Cotton A Matthews 55.5 L Macdonald -
1985 Sir Zephyr W Harris 55.5 B Smith -
1984 Mapperley Heights M Clarke 54.5 C Hayes -

Frequently Asked Questions about the South Australian Derby

When is the 2019 SA Derby? May 11 which is the middle Saturday of the Adelaide Autumn Carnival.

How long is the SA Derby? 2500 metres which is the same distance as the Victoria Derby at Flemington.

Where is the 2019 SA Derby? Morphettville Racecourse in Adelaide, South Australia. Located about 15 minutes by car from the city centre.

Who won 2018 SA Derby? Leicester won the 2018 Derby for Darren Weir and Damian Lane. Shortly after, Leicester was sold to Hong Kong and now races under the name Helene Leadingstar.

Who won 2017 SA Derby? Darren Weir also won the race in 2017 with Volatile Mix. John Allen was in the saddle. The same combination won the race the year prior with Howard Be Thy Name.

What is the prize money for the SA Derby? $500,000 is the total amount of prize money. The first place prize is $320,000.


Almost there!

We are loading your bets, and they will be here in a second.