Sydney Cup Betting


April 13, 2019


Royal Randwick Racecourse


Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival






Group 1

2018 WINNER:

Who Shot Thebarman


Total stakes: $2,000,000 (AUD)

Sydney Cup


  • The Sydney Cup was first known as The Jockey Club Handicap and later changed to the Grand Randwick Handicap, but when the Victoria Racing Club poured big funds into the Melbourne Cup the Australian Jockey Club renamed the race as the Sydney Gold Cup in 1866.
  • The race was originally run over two miles but was converted to 3200m in 1973 due to the metric conversion of Australia.
  • Last year the race was abandoned because Almoonquith broke down badly soon after the start and was rescheduled two weeks later, run on April 22 and won by Polarisation.
  • Charlie Appleby became the first Northern Hemisphere trainer to win the Cup with Polarisation last year.
  • The Sydney Cup has been dominated by Northern Hemisphere stayers for more than a decade now with other notable imported winners being The Offer (2014) and Mourayan (2013).
  • New Zealand bred stayers also dominate the Sydney Cup with Jessicabeel (2010) and Ista Kareem (2009), being the last Kiwis to win.
  • The immortal Tommy Smith-trained Kingston Town was the first to win the Sydney Cup as a Group 1 in 1980.
  • The Sydney Cup has been significantly overshadowed by the Melbourne Cup, but still attracts a quality field of stayers Carbine (1889-90), Caulfield and Melbourne Cup winner Galilee (1967), Kingston Town (1980), Tie The Knot (1989-90) and Makybe Diva (2004).


  • Restricted to a maximum of 20 starters. But in recent years the race has failed to attract a capacity field.
  • Over the flat and run in a right-hand direction for three-year-old and older horses.
  • The best field will be selected at final acceptances.
  • Nominations are taken early with first acceptances, weights and final acceptances drawn, before the race is run on April 13.



  • The Sydney Cup is a magnificent gold cup. The first winner was Talleyrand, who was an odds-on favourite, at its inaugural running in 1862.


Year Winner Jockey Weight (kg) Trainer Price
2018 Who Shot Thebarman B Shinn 55 C Waller $18.00
2017 Polarisation C Brown 51.5 C Appleby $6.50
2016 Gallante K McEvoy 51.5 R Hickmott $10.00
2015 Grand Marshal J Cassidy 52 C Waller $41.00
2014 The Offer T Berry 55 G Waterhouse $3.30
2013 Mourayan H Bowman 58 R Hickmott $12.00
2012 Niwot D Dunn 55.5 M, W & J Hawkes $4.30
2011 Stand To Gain R Quinn 53.5 C Waller $21.00
2010 Jessicabeel C Newitt 52 J O'Shea $5.00
2009 Ista Kareem C Williams 52 C Little $6.50
2007 Gallic S Arnold 56 G Rogerson -
2005 Mahtoum D Beadman 52.5 K Waugh -
2004 Makybe Diva G Boss 55.5 D Freedman -
2003 Honor Babe K McEvoy 53 K Alexander -
2002 Henderson Bay D McLellan 54 N McBurney -
2001 Mr. Prudent C W Brown 50.5 G Hanlon -
2000 Streak S R King 53.5 R Smerdon -
1999 Tie The Knot R S Dye 57 G Walter -
1998 Tie The Knot R S Dye 50.5 G Walter -
1997 Linesman L V Cassidy 51.5 G Waterhouse -
1996 Count Chivas S R King 55.5 S Morrish -
1995 Daacha B Prebble 51 J Meagher -
1994 Cross Swords G Eades 52.5 J Hawkes -
1993 Azzaam M Dittman 53.5 D Hayes -
1992 My Eagle Eye G Cooksley 52.5 M Baker -
1991 Just A Dancer G Cooksley 52 G Rogerson -
1990 King Aussie N Harris 53 J Harris -
1989 Palace Revolt K Moses 48.5 N Begg -
1988 Banderol P Cook 53.5 D O'Sullivan -
1987 Major Drive G Hall 54.5 J Meagher -
1986 Marooned J Cassidy 49.5 B Mayfield-Smith -
1985 Late Show N Campton 51 B Mayfield-Smith -
1984 Trissaro J Marshall 56.5 B Cummings -
1983 Veloso P Cook 51 L Pickering -
SummaryNew Bookmaker!New Bookmaker: Competitive Fixed OddsJoin Now