Toorak Handicap Betting

The Toorak Handicap is a Melbourne Racing Club thoroughbred horse race run over 1600 metres at Caulfield Racecourse in Melbourne, Victoria (Australia). The race is an open handicap available to horses aged three and older and run under Set Weights with Penalties conditions. The Toorak Handicap has carried Group One status since its inception in 1881.

Prize money for the Toorak Handicap is $500,000 with $300,000 of that going to the winner. Prizemoney is paid all the way down to eighth (8th).

Darren Weir has dominated this race in recent times by winning four of the last five editions of the Toorak. In 2018 it was Land Of Plenty that gave him the win while the year prior it was Tosen Stardom. Both were ridden by Damian Lane.

Notable horses to have won the Toorak Handicap over the years include Galilee (then went on to win Melbourne Cup), Tobin Bronze (then won Cox Plate) and Leilani for legendary trainer Bart Cummings who then saluted in the Caulfield Cup. Cummings’ last Toorak Handicap winner was Allez Wonder in 2009 and ridden by Michelle Payne – the first female to ride a Group One winner for him.

Various horses have won the Toorak twice but none have registered the hat-trick. Umrum came close after winning in 1999 and 2000, finishing runner-up in 2002 behind Shot Of Thunder. Nicopolis (1963, ’64) was second in the 1965 running to Ripa.

Key Toorak Handicap Race Information


October 12, 2019


Caulfield Racecourse


Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival






Group 1

2019 WINNER:

Fierce Impact


Total stakes: $500,000 (AUD)

2019 Toorak Handicap Race Replay

2018 Toorak Handicap Race Replay

Past Toorak Handicap Results

Year Winner Jockey Weight (kg) Trainer Price
2019 Fierce Impact C Williams 54.5 M Smith $18.00
2018 Land Of Plenty D Lane 53 D Weir $4.20
2017 Tosen Stardom D Lane 57.5 D Weir $10.00
2016 He'S Our Rokkii D Dunn 55 D & B Hayes & T Dabernig $2.50
2015 Lucky Hussler G Boss 58 D Weir $6.00
2014 Trust In A Gust B Rawiller 56.5 D Weir $4.50
2013 Solzhenitsyn N Rawiller 58 R Heathcote $6.00
2012 Solzhenitsyn C Brown 52 R Heathcote $5.00
2011 Mufhasa M Rodd 58 S Mckee $9.00
2010 More Joyous N Rawiller 58 G Waterhouse $2.30
2009 Allez Wonder M Payne 52 B Cummings $41.00
2008 Alamosa C Newitt 55.5 M Price $9.00

Frequently Asked Questions about the Toorak Handicap

When is the 2019 Toorak Handicap? The Toorak Handicap is on October 12 and is one of four Group Ones on Caulfield Guineas Day.

How long is the Toorak Handicap? The distance for the Toorak Handicap is 1600 metres. Since the first running in 1886, the race distance has varied up to 1800 metres but remained at 1600 metres since 1972.

Where is the 2019 Toorak Handicap? Caulfield Racecourse is the venue for the Toorak Handicap and, with the exception of the years 1940 to 1943 when it was run at Flemington, has always been the home of this Group One.

Who won 2018 Toorak Handicap? Land Of Plenty gave trainer Darren Weir and Damian Lane back-to-back Tooraks and Weir his fourth success in the race in the past five years. Hartnell and Siege Of Quebec filled the minors.

Who won 2017 Toorak Handicap? Former Japanese galloper Tosen Stardom won the 2017 Toorak Handicap beating Sovereign Nation and Petrology.

What is the prize money for the Toorak Handicap? Total prize money for the Toorak Handicap is $500,000 with $300,000 afforded to the winner and its connections.


Almost there!

We are loading your bets, and they will be here in a second.