Kennedy Oaks Betting

The VRC Oaks, or Kennedy Oaks as it is commonly known, is held during the Spring Racing Carnival and is open to three-year-old fillies. The race is held under set weights conditions over 2500 metres at Flemington.

With total prize money of $1 million, the winner receives $600,000 for running first while second ($180,000) and third ($90,000) take the lion’s share of what’s remaining. Prize money is paid down to eighth (8th).

Some legends of Australian racing have taken out the VRC Oaks including Light Fingers (1964), Surround (1976) and in more recent years Miss Finland (2006) and Samantha Miss (2008). Jameka, the 2015 winner, went on to win the Caulfield Cup the following year.

The VRC Oaks was first run in 1861 and was taken out by Palestine. In 1864, 1868, 1870 and 1877 just two horses faced the starter. The legendary Bart Cummings holds the record for most wins by a trainer with nine (9) while Bobby Lewis won seven VRC Oaks’ during his time in the saddle.

Key Kennedy Oaks Race Information


November 7, 2019


Flemington Racecourse


Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival




3YO Fillies – Set Weights


Group 1

2018 WINNER:



Total stakes: $1,000,000 (AUD)

BetEasy TAB B365 Sportsbet Ladbrokes

2018 Kennedy Oaks Result & Race Replay

Kennedy Oaks Results

Frequently Asked Questions about the Kennedy Oaks

When is the 2019 Kennedy Oaks? The 2019 Kennedy Oaks will be run on November 7 during its traditional timeslot of two days after the Melbourne Cup.

How long is the 2019 Kennedy Oaks? The Kennedy Oaks is run over a distance of 2500 metres and has been since 1973. Prior to that, it had been run up to 2400 metres.

Where is the 2019 Kennedy Oaks? Flemington Racecourse will host the Kennedy Oaks and is the third day of the four-day Melbourne Cup Carnival.

Who won 2018 Kennedy Oaks? Aristia won the Oaks after racing on the speed for most of the trip for trainers Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra along with jockey Damian Lane. She became the 20th horse to complete the Wakeful  - Oaks double since 1998 and the first since Kirramosa in 2013.

Who won 2017 Kennedy Oaks? Pinot for Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott won the 2017 Kennedy Oaks with jockey Stephen Baster in the saddle.

What is the prize money for the 2019 Kennedy Oaks? Prize money for the Kennedy Oaks, which is registered as the VRC Oaks, is $1million with $600,000 of that going to the winner.

What is the highest odds paid out for a Kennedy Oaks winner? Lasqueti Spirit is one of the highest, if not the highest-priced, winner of the Oaks. Saluting at $101 when the race was sponsored by Crown, Brenton Avdulla sat high in the irons over the concluding stages much to the applause from the crowd. It was trainer Lee Curtis’ second career Group One triumph.


Almost there!

We are loading your bets, and they will be here in a second.

Year Winner Jockey Weight (kg) Trainer Price
2018 Aristia D Lane 55.5 M Szahra $5.50
2017 Pinot S Baster 55.5 G Waterhouse & A Bott $5.50
2016 Lasqueti Spirit B Avdulla 55.5 L Curtis $101.00
2015 Jameka D Oliver 55.5 C Maher & D Eustace $4.50
2014 Set Square H Bowman 55.5 C Maher & D Eustace $7.50
2013 Kirramosa N Rawiller 55.5 J Sargent $2.80
2012 Dear Demi J Cassidy 55.5 C Conners $5.00
2011 Mosheen D Nikolic 55.5 R Smerdon $5.00
2010 Brazilian Pulse C Williams 55.5 M Moroney $3.00
2009 Faint Perfume M Rodd 55.5 B Cummings $1.70
2008 Samantha Miss H Bowman 55.5 K Lees $1.90
2006 Miss Finland C Williams 55.5 D Hayes -
2005 Serenade Rose S King 55.5 D Freedman -
2004 Hollow Bullet D Taggart 55.5 J Mcardle -
2003 Special Harmony D Oliver 55.5 D Freedman -
2002 Bulla Borghese C Munce 55.5 R Quinton -
2001 Magical Miss S Arnold 55.5 B Cummings -
2000 Lovelorn B Prebble 55.5 J Hawkes -
1999 Tributes D Gauci 55.5 J Hawkes -
1998 Grand Archway O Bosson 55.5 G Rogerson -
1997 Kensington Palace D Oliver 55.5 D Freedman -
1996 My Brightia G Boss 55.5 L Smith -
1995 Saleous D Beadman 55.5 P Hyland -
1994 Northwood Plume D Oliver 55.5 D Freedman -
1993 Arborea R Dye 55.5 C Conners -
1992 Slight Chance R Dye 55.5 R Thomsen -
1991 Richfield Lady G Childs 55.5 B Cummings -
1990 Weekend Delight J Cassidy 55.5 B Cummings -
1989 Tristanagh J Cassidy 55.5 B Cummings -
1988 Research M Dittman 55.5 C Conners -
1987 Sandy'S Pleasure J Cassidy 55.5 G Begg -
1986 Diamond Shower J Cassidy 55.5 B Mayfield-Smith -
1985 My Tristram'S Belle N Harris 55.5 T Smith -
1984 Spirit Of Kingston G Willetts 55.5 R Hoysted -
1983 Taj Eclipse D Gauci 55.5 B Cummings -