VRC Sprint Classic Betting

The VRC Sprint Classic is one of the premier sprint races in Australia. It is run on the final day of the Melbourne Cup Carnival and carries Group One Status. The VRC Sprint conducted at Flemington Racecourse and is run over 1200 metres under weight-for-age conditions. It is open to all horses with the exception of maiden performers.

Prize money for the VRC Sprint Classic is $1million with $600,000 going to the winner and its connections. Second place receives $180,000 while third is in line for $90,000.

The VRC Sprint Classic, which was known as the Darley Classic, features on Stakes Day and brings together some of the best sprinters in Australia. Since its inception in 1960, the honour roll is littered names such as Vain, Special, Hareeba, Takeover Target, Miss Andretti and the great Black Caviar (2010, ’11). In fact, the latter is just one of three horses to have won the race twice with River Rough (1983, ’84) and Planet Ruler (1989, ’90) being the others.

The VRC Sprint Classic has always been considered top shelf (Principal Race) until receiving Group One status in 1979. It has also had a number of name changes over the years thanks to differing sponsors with Darley being one of the more popular establishments to put their name to the race. In the early years of this event from 1960-79, it was known as the Craven ‘A’ Stakes.


Key VRC Sprint Classic Race Information


November 9, 2019


Flemington Racecourse


Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival






Group 1

2018 WINNER:

Santa Ana Lane


Total stakes: $1,000,000 (AUD)

2018 VRC Sprint Classic Race Replay

Past VRC Sprint Classic Results

Year Winner Jockey Weight (kg) Trainer Price
2018 Santa Ana Lane M Zahra 58.5 A Freedman $10.00
2017 Redzel K McEvoy 58.5 P & P Snowden $4.00
2016 Malaguerra B Melham 58.5 P Gelagotis $9.00
2015 Delectation J McDonald 58.5 C Waller $13.00
2014 Terravista H Bowman 58.5 J Pride $10.00
2013 Buffering D Browne 58.5 R Heathcote $11.00
2012 Mental K McEvoy 58.5 P Snowden $7.00
2011 Black Caviar L Nolen 56.5 P Moody $1.10
2010 Black Caviar B Melham 56.5 P Moody $1.90
2009 All Silent N Hall 58.5 G Begg $4.00
2008 Swick M Rodd 58.5 B Cummings $16.00

Frequently Asked Questions about the VRC Sprint Classic

When is the 2019 VRC Sprint Classic? The VRC Sprint Classic is on Saturday, November 9 and is the feature sprint on the final day (Stakes Day) of the Melbourne Cup Carnival.

How long is the VRC Sprint Classic? The VRC Sprint Classic is 1200 metres and is regarded as one of the premier sprint races in Australia.

Where is the 2019 VRC Sprint Classic? The Victoria Racing Club will host the VRC Sprint Classic with the race run down the famous Flemington Racecourse straight.

Who won 2018 VRC Sprint Classic? Santa Ana Lane scored at double figure odds for trainer Anthony Freedman and jockey Mark Zahra. In Her time and Pierata were second and third respectively.

Who won 2017 VRC Sprint Classic? Known as the Darley Classic in 2017, the race was taken out by Redzel over Terravista and Impending. Peter and Paul Snowden were the winning trainers while regular jockey Kerrin McEvoy was in the saddle for the victory.

What is the prize money for the VRC Sprint Classic? Prize money of $1million is on offer for the VRC Sprint Classic with $600,000 of that afforded to the winner. Money is paid all the way down to eighth (8th) place.


Almost there!

We are loading your bets, and they will be here in a second.