Brownlow Medal 2019: When is it, how to watch, odds, previous winners

This year’s Brownlow Medal promises to be the closest count in recent years with at least half a dozen genuine chances of taking home Charlie

Tue, 6 Aug, 12:00 AM

The last four winners of the Brownlow Medal have been short-priced favourites. Nat Fyfe, Patrick Dangerfield, Dustin Martin and Tom Mitchell were all heavily tipped and expected to win the highest individual honour. Not since 2014 have we seen a Brownlow Medal so open with many chances from a range of different clubs. That year Matt Priddis was the surprise winner with his club West Coast not qualifying for the finals. The last four winners’ clubs have all finished inside the top four at the end of the home and away season.


What is the Brownlow Medal?

The Charles Brownlow Trophy, better known as the Brownlow Medal is the highest individual award in the game and has been awarded since 1924 to the Fairest and Best player in the AFL competition each season. There was no medal awarded between 1942-1945. The first winner was Edward “Carji” Greeves from Geelong, which was fitting because the award was named in honour of respected Geelong administrator Charles Brownlow, who had died earlier that year.

Voting for the Brownlow Medal is conducted by field umpires, immediately after each home-and-away match, with three votes awarded for the player they believed to have been the best on the ground, two votes for the second-best player and one vote for the third-best player on the day, in their opinion.


When and where is the 2019 Brownlow Medal?

The Brownlow Medal is held at the Crown Palladium Ballroom in Melbourne on the Monday prior to the AFL Grand Final. This year the Brownlow Medal will be held on Monday, September 23.


How can I watch the Brownlow Medal?

The vote count is televised exclusively live on Channel 7.


Who won last year’s Brownlow Medal?

For the fourth year in a row, the 2018 Brownlow Medal was won by a very short-priced favourite. Tom Mitchell (Hawthorn) was the winner with 28 votes, four votes ahead of Steele Sidebottom (Collingwood) in second, who was a further three votes clear of third placed Angus Brayshaw (Melbourne). Both Sidebottom and Brayshaw were surprise runner-ups. 2017 winner Dustin Martin who polled a record 36 votes in his winning season finished equal 6th with 19 votes.

Tom Mitchell was Hawthorn’s 5th winner of the award after Colin Austen (1949), Robert DiPierdomenico (1986), John Platten (1987), Shane Crawford (1999) and Sam Mitchell (2012). Carlton, North Melbourne and Hawthorn all have five winners, which is the equal lowest among Victorian clubs.


Why are some players ineligible to win the Brownlow Medal?

Players who are suspended by the AFL Tribunal during the home and away season are ineligible for the award. This encompasses the fairest component of the medal. An ineligible player cannot win the Brownlow Medal, regardless of the number of votes he has received.

The application of the ineligibility criteria has remained fairly consistent throughout the history of the award, with some subtle changes. For example, from 2005 until 2014, whether or not a player was ineligible was based on the penalty determined by the Tribunal's Match Review Panel before applying adjustments based on a player's good or bad record, or for accepting an early guilty plea or a player's existing good record – meaning that a player could be ineligible based on an infringement which was worthy of a one-game suspension, but still avoid suspension by taking an early guilty plea on the charge. Since 2015, the criteria has been solely based upon whether or not the player is suspended during the season.


Has an ineligible player ever polled the most votes in the Brownlow Medal?

On three occasions, an ineligible player has polled the highest number of Brownlow votes, including in back-to-back seasons.

In 1996, Corey McKernan (North Melbourne) received the same number of votes (21) as the joint-winners James Hird (Essendon) and Michael Voss (Brisbane). Voss’ win coincided with the last year of the Brisbane Bears, before merging into the Brisbane Lions the following season.

McKernan was suspended for one match during the season for kneeing. McKernan was named the AFL Players Association MVP in the same year, which is not subject to the same eligibility criteria.

In 1997, Chris Grant (Western Bulldogs) polled one more vote (27) than winner Robert Harvey (St Kilda) with 26 votes. Grant was suspended for one match during the season for striking.

In 2012, Jobe Watson (Essendon) was originally declared the winner by polling four more votes than joint runners up Trent Cotchin (Richmond) and Sam Mitchell (Hawthorn), however in November 2016, he was retrospectively deemed ineligible for the award, due to his part in the Essendon supplements saga, and the Medal was awarded to Cotchin and Mitchell.


Latest 2019 Brownlow Medal odds


Lachie Neale $3.50
Tim Kelly $4.50
Josh Kelly $5.50
Nat Fyfe $6.00
Patrick Cripps $7.50
Patrick Dangerfield $9.00
Marcus Bontempelli $12.00
Brodie Grundy $21.00
Adam Treloar $26.00
Travis Boak $26.00


Related Tips

Grand Final: Richmond Tigers v GWS Giants Player Bets

The 2019 AFL season draws to a close this Saturday when the Richmond Tigers and the GWS Giants clash at the iconic MCG. Find out best betting tips here.
Read Article

2019 AFL Grand Final: Richmond v GWS Preview & Betting Tips

Can Richmond bury last year’s demons and lift the cup for the second time in three years or will it be the Giants claiming their maiden AFL premiership in just their 8th season?
Read Article

Punters backing an upset in the 2019 Brownlow

$5.5 shot being backed despite the bookmakers having Patrick Dangerfield as the short priced favourite.
Read Article
SummaryBet at SportsbettingCompetitive fixed odds from one of the oldest bookmakers in Australia.Join Now