Odds format
United States

2022 World Cup Golden Boot Winner Odds: 30% of Bets Backing Marcus Rashford to Win Golden Boot

2022 World Cup Golden Boot winner odds and betting breakdown. The Golden Boot award winner odds favor France's Kylian Mbappe. However, it's England's Marcus Rashford that has the majority of bets backing him.
| 3 min read
Share to Facebook
Share to Twitter
Copy Link

2022 World Cup Golden Boot Winner Odds: 30% of Bets Backing Marcus Rashford to Win Golden Boot

The 2022 World Cup is in full swing and along with the ups and downs of the tournament come the ups and downs of futures bets you've placed prior to the event. One of the most bet on markets coming into the World Cup was the Golden Boot odds, and we've had a ton of developments since.

There were plenty of superstar players that were well-backed to win the Golden Boot based on their odds. Names like Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, Kylian Mbappe and others topped the charts. However, it's a new name that is soaring up the Golden Boot odds board and has been the most bet over the past 48 hours.

Who do you think is going to win the World Cup Golden Boot? Whoever you think, come bet on them with over $5,000 of sports betting bonuses here!

Who will take home the World Cup Golden Boot? Read on to get the latest Golden Boot odds and find out who the bettors are picking. Check out all of Oddscheckers World Cup picks as our expert handicappers continue to cover every single game from Qatar.

Golden Boot World Cup Odds

PlayerGolden Boot Odds
Kylian Mbappe+350
Lionel Messi+800
Cody Gakpo+1400
Marcus Rashford+1400
Alvaro Morata+2200
Ferran Torres+3000
Olivier Giroud+3300
Cristiano Ronaldo+3300
Bukayo Saka+5000

Click Here for World Cup Betting Odds

The World Cup Golden Boot odds currently favor none other than Kylian Mbappe to win the award. Mbappe is tied for the World Cup lead in goals with three, but his odds are significantly shorter than most of the field. At +350, Mbappe's implied probability, based on his World Cup Golden Boot odds, is 22%.

Right behind Mbappe is another familiar name when it comes to World Cup Golden Boot odds. Argentina's Lionel Messi, whose team secured a spot in the Round of 16 on Wednesday, sits at +800 to win the award. Despite a wildly successful career, Messi has never won the Golden Boot.

Claim this BetMGM bonus code now. Bet $10 on Mbappe's France or Messi's Argentina side and win $200 when a goal is scored at the 2022 World Cup today!

It's not enough to be good and a clinical finisher to win the Golden Boot. There are multiple factors that go into a Golden Boot winner and one of them is the potential for your team to go far in the World Cup. Mbappe, whose team won the 2018 World Cup, has that. As does Messi.

But then you have someone like Marcus Rashford, who also has three goals in the 2022 World Cup. While England has a great shot to make a run in Qatar, we don't know how much of Rashford we'll see. He didn't start against either Iran or the USA, but started against Wales and found the back of the net twice.

Golden Boot World Cup Odds Breakdown

Player% of Bets
Marcus Rashford30.85%
Kylian Mbappe15.17%
Cody Gakpo13.18%
Lionel Messi7.71%

Remember how I mentioned that we don't even know how much playing time Marcus Rashford will get at the 2022 World Cup? Well, Golden Boot bettors around the world have decided they don't care as they've heavily backed the English striker to win the Golden Boot in Qatar.

Rashford came on as a sub against Iran in a 6-2 win and found the back of the net. But, so did most of the players on England. The real reason for the boost in bets on Rashford is what he did when he was given a chance to start against Wales, netting two goals.

Those three goals tie him for the lead in the 2022 World Cup along with Kylian Mbappe, Cody Gakpo and Enner Valencia.

However, one of those names has already been eliminated. You won't find Enner Valencia's name on any Golden Boot winner odds boards because his Ecuadorian side was bounced from the World Cup by Senegal.

As for Mbappe and Gakpo, they are still very much alive at the World Cup and will make a play for the Golden Boot at the 2022 World Cup. Mbappe's France side plays Poland on Sunday. Meanwhile, Gakpo's Netherlands team has drawn the United States.

Past World Cup Golden Boot Winners

  • 1982 – Paolo Rossi 6 Goals (Italy)
  • 1986 –  Gary Lineker 6 Goals (England)
  • 1990 – Salvatore Schillaci 6 Goals (Italy)
  • 1994 – Oleg Salenko 6 Goals (Russia), Hristo Stoichkov 6 Goals (Bulgaria)
  • 1998 – Davor Šuker 6 Goals (Croatia)
  • 2002 – Ronaldo 8 Goals (Brazil)
  • 2006 – Miroslav Klose 5 Goals (Germany)
  • 2010 – Thomas Müller 5 Goals (Germany)
  • 2014 – James Rodríguez 6 Goals (Colombia)
  • 2018 – Harry Kane 6 Goals (England)


Brian is a sports journalist with close to ten years of experience in the business. A lifelong Philadelphia sports fan with a passion for all things sports gambling.


Almost there!

We are loading your bets, and they will be here in a second.