Sony Open: Can record-breaking Cameron Smith follow Ernie Els lead?

Sony Open: Can record-breaking Cameron Smith follow Ernie Els lead?

oddschecker looks at whether Cameron Smith can emulate the feat of his record score predecessor Ernie Els at the Sony Open in Hawaii.

"Being a leader is not easy, with restless sleeps. I feel like I spent a lot of time looking at the ceiling."

The sort of comments that might stop you from backing repeat success for record-breaking PGA Tour golfer Cameron Smith at this week's Sony Open.

The Australian claimed last week's Sentry Tournament of Champions title with a winning score of 34-under, the lowest 72-hole score in PGA Tour history.

Smith, alongside both his nearest challengers Jon Rahm (33-under) and Matt Jones (32-under), eclipsed a record held by Ernie Els since the January 2003 Mercedes Championships in Hawaii.

How did the 'Big Easy' fare the following week?

The answer is he beat Australian Aaron Baddeley in a play-off to record back-to-back wins, giving hope to those backing Smith to replicate Els' Hawaii swing double.

Aside from the obvious hot form of short-priced 10/1 favourite Smith, already a winner of this event in 2020, oddschecker golf expert Niall Lyons has picked out some other key trends to consider for your tournament bets.

He suggested looking out for those with a tournament already under their belt in 2022, while nine of the last 10 winners have then finished inside the top 50 in strokes gained (SG) putting for the season.


  • Huge range of regular promotions
  • 24/7 live chat service
  • PickYourPunt builder for custom bets
Bet £10 Get £60 In Bonuses
New UK customers only. Register using the promo code BETFRED60, deposit and place first bet of £10+ on Sports (cumulative Evens+) within 7 days of registration. First bet must be on Sports. £20 in Free Bets to be used on Sports, £10 in Free Bets to be used on Lotto and 50 Free Spins (20p per spin) credited within 48 hours of bet settlement. Further £20 in Free Bets credited 5 days after settlement. Bonuses have a 7-day expiry. Payment restrictions apply. SMS verification and/or Proof of I.D and address may be required. Full T&Cs apply.

Previous Winners:

  • 2021: Kevin Na
  • 2020: Cameron Smith
  • 2019: Matt Kuchar
  • 2018: Patton Kizzire
  • 2017: Justin Thomas


Where can I watch it on TV?

Featured groups coverage of the Sony Open begins on the 13th of January at 17:00pm UK time on Sky Sports Golf.

Tee Times:

Tee Time      
1 07:10 AM Brian Harman Kramer Hickok Hank Lebioda
10 07:10 AM Tom Hoge Denny McCarthy Denny McCarthy
1 07:20 AM Cameron Percy Sepp Straka Roger Sloan
10 07:20 AM Andrew Putnam Russell Knox Vaughn Taylor
1 07:30 AM Brendan Steele Parker McLachlin Harry Higgs
10 07:30 AM Keegan Bradley Brian Stuard Maverick McNealy
1 07:40 AM Hudson Swafford Tyler Duncan Kevin Chappell
10 07:40 AM Jim Herman Martin Trainer Brandt Snedeker
1 07:50 AM Si Woo Kim Brian Gay Patton Kizzire
10 07:50 AM Branden Grace Brendon Todd Keith Mitchell
1 08:00 AM K.H. Lee J.T. Poston Wesley Bryan
10 08:00 AM Abraham Ancer Harris English Billy Horschel
1 08:10 AM Ryan Palmer Adam Long Jim Furyk
10 08:10 AM Hideki Matsuyama Kevin Kisner Webb Simpson
1 08:20 AM Erik van Rooyen Richy Werenski Michael Thompson
10 08:20 AM Bo Van Pelt Kelly Kraft Adam Schenk
1 08:30 AM David Lipsky Sahith Theegala Austin Smotherman
10 08:30 AM Aaron Rai Joshua Creel Takumi Kanaya
1 08:40 AM Michael Gligic Nick Hardy Chad Ramey
10 08:40 AM Cameron Young Callum Tarren Andy Ogletree
1 08:50 AM Trey Mullinax Brandon Wu Jared Sawada
10 08:50 AM Taylor Pendrith Paul Barjon Peter Jung
1 09:00 AM Alex Smalley Dawie van der Walt Kevin Carll
10 09:00 AM Stephan Jaeger Jared Wolfe Koichiro Ishika
1 11:50 AM Ryan Armour Jerry Kelly Scott Gutschewski
10 11:50 AM Peter Malnati Chesson Hadley J.J. Spaun
1 12:00 PM Kyle Stanley Camilo Villegas John Huh
10 12:00 PM Bill Haas Beau Hossler Christiaan Bezuidenhout
1 12:10 PM Satoshi Kodaira Rory Sabbatini Mark Hubbard
10 12:10 PM Austin Cook Ryan Moore Chris Kirk
1 12:20 PM Lucas Glover Joel Dahmen Nate Lashley
10 12:20 PM Seamus Power Cam Davis Charles Howell III
1 12:30 PM Matt Kuchar Jimmy Walker Luke Donald
10 12:30 PM Stewart Cink Corey Conners Graeme McDowell
1 12:40 PM Sungjae Im Marc Leishman Matt Jones
10 12:40 PM Jason Kokrak Robert Streb Zach Johnson
1 12:50 PM Cameron Smith Talor Gooch Kevin Na
10 12:50 PM Sung Kang Kevin Tway William McGirt
1 01:00 PM Russell Henley Emiliano Grillo Henrik Norlander
10 01:00 PM Bo Hoag Jim Knous Greyson Sigg
1 01:10 PM Max McGreevy David Skinns Keita Nakajima
10 01:10 PM Adam Svensson Hayden Buckley Justin Lower
1 01:20 PM Curtis Thompson Brett Drewitt Chan Kim
10 01:20 PM Joseph Bramlett Kurt Kitayama Rikuya Hoshino
1 01:30 PM Ben Kohles Andrew Novak Brent Grant
10 01:30 PM Chase Seiffert Davis Riley Haotong Li
1 01:40 PM Vince Whaley Seth Reeves BJ Doucett
10 01:40 PM Lee Hodges Dylan Wu Garrett Okamura
oddschecker logo
unsupported browser icon
Browser Not Supported

To provide a world-class betting experience we use cutting-edge web technologies only supported by modern browsers.

We recommend using one of the following:

chrome iconGoogle Chromefirefox iconMozlla Firefoxopera iconOperaedge iconMicrosoft Edgesafari-ios iconSafari (OS 10.8+)