The Open Championship 2021: Odds, Most Backed, Tee Times, TV Channel, Previous Winners, Free Bets

The Open Championship 2021: Odds, Most Backed, Tee Times, TV Channel, Previous Winners, Free Bets

When does The Open Championship 2021 start? Who is the favourite? What are the odds? oddschecker reveal all…

After last year’s cancelled Open Championship, the anticipation for this year’s instalment of links golf is greater than ever. 

Early on Thursday morning, Royal St George’s will host the opening round of the 2021 Open Championship. 

Ahead of the first tee time, oddschecker have collated all the most important information about this year’s event.  


  • Huge range of regular promotions
  • 24/7 live chat service
  • PickYourPunt builder for custom bets
Bet £10 Get £30 Free and 30 Free Spins
New UK & NI customers only. Promo code SPORTS60. Deposit and place first sports bet of £10+ in one transaction, at odds of Evens (2.0)+, settled within 7 days of registration. First bet must be on Sports. £30 in Free Bets credited within 48 hours of bet settlement. 7-day expiry. Payment restrictions apply. SMS validation may be required. Max 30 Free Spins on Blue Wizard at £0.10 per spin. 7-day expiry. Full T&Cs apply.

The Open Championship Favourite

A clear favourite has emerged for the 149th Open Championship in the form of Spain’s Jon Rahm who has been in breathtaking form in recent weeks. 

The 17/2 shot found success at the US Open in Torrey Pines and finished seventh in last week’s Scottish Open and appears well placed to challenge this week. 

Who is the most backed?

Rahm is the second most backed player in the last 24 hours through oddschecker with 4.5% of bets. Our tipster Niall Lyons has also picked him out as his headline 4pt tip, you can read Niall’s full preview here

The most backed player in the last 24 hours is British hopeful Tyrell Hatton, who will be competing for his first major title. The 29-year-old has accrued 4.8% of bets and currently sits at a best price of 33/1 despite being as short as 22/1 with some bookmakers.

2021 Open Championship Tee Times

Tee Time      
1 06:35 AM Richard Bland Andy Sullivan Marcus Armitage
1 06:46 AM Chan Kim Justin Harding Haotong Li
1 06:57 AM Michael Lorenzo-Vera Gonzalo Fernandez-Castaño Abel Gallegos
1 07:08 AM Alex Noren JC Ritchie Richard Mansell
1 07:19 AM Dean Burmester Danny Willett Laird Shepherd
1 07:30 AM Christiaan Bezuidenhout Sam Horsfield Min Woo Lee
1 07:41 AM Viktor Hovland Ryan Palmer Thomas Detry
1 07:52 AM Paul Casey Abraham Ancer Ian Poulter
1 08:03 AM Brooks Koepka Jason Kokrak Garrick Higgo
1 08:14 AM Daniel Berger Joaquin Niemann Joel Dahmen
1 08:25 AM Darren Clarke Bernd Wiesberger Joe Long
1 08:36 AM Chris Kirk Marcus Kinhult Jack Senior
1 08:47 AM Talor Gooch C.T. Pan Jon Thomson
1 09:03 AM Ernie Els Gary Woodland Cole Hammer
1 09:14 AM Sam Burns Lucas Herbert Jorge Campillo
1 09:25 AM Jordan Spieth Bryson DeChambeau Branden Grace
1 09:36 AM Brian Harman Mackenzie Hughes Dylan Frittelli
1 09:47 AM Victor Perez Kevin Streelman Guido Migliozzi
1 09:58 AM Shane Lowry Jon Rahm Louis Oosthuizen
1 10:09 AM Stewart Cink Lee Westwood Martin Kaymer
1 10:20 AM Dustin Johnson Will Zalatoris Justin Rose
1 10:31 AM Scottie Scheffler Sergio Garcia Yuxin Lin
1 10:42 AM Harris English Erik van Rooyen Chez Reavie
1 10:53 AM Lucas Glover Byeong Hun An Brandt Snedeker
1 11:04 AM Cameron Tringale Takumi Kanaya Marcel Schneider
1 11:15 AM Lanto Griffin Rikuya Hoshino Connor Worsdall
1 11:36 AM Aaron Rai Paul Waring Daniel Croft
1 11:47 AM Daniel van Tonder Jazz Janewattananond Christoffer Bring
1 11:58 AM Harold Varner III Brendan Steele Matthias Schmid
1 12:09 AM Troy Merritt Adam Long Jaco Ahlers
1 12:20 PM Jason Day Joost Luiten Johannes Veerman
1 12:31 PM John Catlin Romain Langasque Aaron Pike
1 12:42 PM Padraig Harrington Brad Kennedy Sam Forgan
1 12:53 PM Tony Finau Billy Horschel Adam Hadwin
1 01:04 PM Patrick Cantlay Matt Fitzpatrick Ryan Fox
1 01:15 PM Francesco Molinari Marc Leishman Matt Wallace
1 01:26 PM Collin Morikawa Corey Conners Sebastián Muñoz
1 01:37 PM Jason Scrivener Keith Mitchell Sam Bairstow
1 01:48 PM Charley Hoffman Emiliano Grillo Benjamin Hebert
1 02:04 PM Keegan Bradley Richard T. Lee Rafa Cabrera Bello
1 02:15 PM Carlos Ortiz Brendon Todd Matthias Schwab
1 02:26 PM Webb Simpson Russell Henley Shaun Norris
1 02:37 PM Matt Jones Daniel Hillier Marcel Siem
1 02:48 PM Phil Mickelson Tyrrell Hatton Kevin Kisner
1 02:59 PM Xander Schauffele Robert MacIntyre Rickie Fowler
1 03:10 PM Justin Thomas Tommy Fleetwood Adam Scott
1 03:21 PM Rory McIlroy Patrick Reed Cameron Smith
1 03:32 PM Henrik Stenson Max Homa Matt Kuchar
1 03:43 PM Antoine Rozner Ryosuke Kinoshita Ben Hutchinson
1 03:54 PM Kurt Kitayama Deyen Lawson Poom Saksansin
1 04:05 PM Yuki Inamori Jimmy Walker Ricardo Celia
1 04:16 PM Rikard Karlberg Ryutaro Nagano Nicholas Poppleton

What TV Channel is The Open on?

Coverage of the 2021 Open Championship will be broadcast on Sky Sports Golf and Main Event. The action gets underway at 6:30am on Thursday the 15th of July. 

Open Championship Free Bets

If you are looking to sign up to a new bookmaker ahead of the 2021 Open Championship then check out these offers. For more offers visit our free bets page

Betfred Offer: Bet £10 Get £30 + 60 Free Spins - CLAIM HERE

Sky Bet Offer: Bet £5 Get £20 in Free Bets - CLAIM HERE 

Paddy Power Offer: £20 Risk Free First Bet - CLAIM HERE 

The Open Previous Winners

  • 2020: Cancelled
  • 2019: Shane Lowry
  • 2018: Francesco Molinari
  • 2017: Jordan Spieth
  • 2016: Henrik Stenson 


  • Live streams every day
  • Wide range of markets
  • Competitive odds
Get up to £10 in Free Bets
New UK customers only. £10 Min Deposit. 100% matched free bet on your first deposit of £10. 1 x wagering at odds of 1.75+ to unlock Free Bets. Debit Card deposits only. This offer is valid for 7 days from your new account being registered. Full Terms apply. 18+. Bet The Responsible Way.